Delivery By C-Section

Image of Lania and her daughter

“Oh, so you a had a c-section delivery? You didn’t really give birth then. It must have been great to take the easy way out.”

Hold it right there.

My emergency c-section was not a matter of convenience. Nor was it a walk in the park to labour for twelve hours, without pain relief, to then be told that my child was stuck.

Having laboured for hours, I was informed that my baby was not progressing as expected. All my vitals indicated that I was ready to deliver naturally, but my daughter was not. She had flipped and the decision was made to operate.

Some c-section māmās have weeks to mentally prepare for a change in plans, but I was given minutes. Everything I had envisioned about meeting my child had changed. My birth plan thrown out the door. Thoughts rushed through my head. How serious is this? Is my baby healthy? How long until I get to hold her?

Being prepped for a c-section is not easy. It’s a major operation and I had little time to process what was about to happen. I had to be strong as I waited, considering what lied before me. I was scared.

In that moment, I had to hold on to the fierce love I had for my baby. I had to accept that this was the only way to bring my daughter into the world. This meant major surgery, wounds and scars. I had to let fear wash over me, and then let it slip away.

We humans don’t tend to do well in situations of sudden change. Finding a way to let go of my pride and connect with an inner strength allowed me to enter the operating room and give birth to my child.

And then the surgery happened. The cutting, moving and pulling to bring my daughter into this world. Full recovery takes months, and while others were able to eat chocolate and watch movies after a major surgery, I had to do the opposite. I had to love, nurture and bond with my beautiful baby.

You don’t realise until after the surgery that you use your core muscles for literally everything. Imagine not being able to use them because they have been shredded and mangled by a doctor and cannot repair them for at least six weeks because your body has to do it naturally. And people say having a c-section is the easy way out.

Becoming a māmā leaves us all with scars. Some are physical and some are emotional. I have both. My scar is a powerful reminder of how strong and brave I was to have brought my baby into this world.

Whether you delivered your child naturally or by c-section, the point of the matter is, we all gave birth. We all carried our children for nine months, and we all worked damn hard to bring them into this world.

I am a c-section māmā and proud of it. I would honestly go through this every single day just to see her smiling face.

Leave a Reply

